Anxiety and Me

#ad In 2014 I was laying in bed with my husband watching Grey’s Anatomy and getting ready for bed when something just didn’t feel right. All of a sudden my heart began to race and palpitate. I had an extreme burning in my chest. My arms went numb. My jaw locked. I was shaking uncontrollably and I began to black out. The nearest hospital was within a half a mile so my husband got me to the car and we rushed to the ER. On the way I began telling him how I wanted my funeral and who my belongings would go to. It was literally the most terrifying time of my life.

In the ER, they got me right in for and ECG (echo cardiogram) to test my heart rate. I took a chest X-ray and did blood work. I was sure at any moment they would wheel me away for open heart surgery. But everything came back normal. I was healthy minus a little high cholesterol. I was beyond confused. I was sure I was dying. What was happening to me? The doctors in the ER explained that I may have just experienced my first anxiety attack. They gave me something to calm me down then suggested I follow up with my primary care provider.

Exhausted and terrified I went home to get no sleep, and from then my life was never the same. I was not equipped with information. I had no clue how to combat the attack I had just had. I had no idea why it happened or if it would ever happen again. Cut to 5 years later and multiple more ER visits under my belt, I have finally found a routine and care plan that works for me. It took a huge support team of family, friends, Doctors, Pharmacists, therapists and natural-paths. I had to struggle with trying different medications. Ones that made me sick. Ones that made me gain weight. Ones that gave me suicidal thoughts and even ones that made my body break out after having no acne issues in life. It was a long road but my team helped me through.

One of those team mates is Walgreen’s.  This is where I chose to fill my prescriptions and get the advice I need. Now that I take something everyday, I need a lot of help. I really love the Walgreen’s app because they give me the round the clock support that I need. The app has reminders to take and fill your prescriptions. I set my reminder to to take my prescription every night at 9. Without the reminder I would always forget if I took it or not. They also have a 24/7 pharmacy chat to help you answer any questions you have WHENEVER you have them. I use this feature more than I like to admit but it is so helpful for me. I always like to make sure I’m not mixing something I shouldn’t be. The Walgreen’s app has been so helpful to me and I want to spread the word about it so that it can help others with chronic illness as well. If you take a daily medication or have a chronic illness, why not let someone like Walgreen’s take some of the added stress off of you.

Having anxiety has been a long road. I used to be ashamed to admit that I had it let alone took something for it. But now I say it loud and proud because I want others to know that whatever they struggle with, they are not alone. We are all in the beautiful life together and shouldn’t be made to feel ashamed about who we are. I hope that if you’re reading this, I helped you in some way.

~ Love Felicia

Posted by

A 34 year old shopping enthusiast living in Huntington Beach, CA. I have a B.S. in Speech Pathology and an M.E. in Special Education. I am passionate about sharing my mental health story and finding all natural alternatives to alleviate symptoms. I am also a lover of beauty and clothes.... but not at the price everyone else pays. Stick with me and ill help you find good deals AND your zen!

Leave a comment